Friday, May 27

How to delete all contacts from Google Gmail

Millions of people use Google as their primary email client. Whether for business or personal use, almost every user will find themselves with a cluttered address book at some point. It can be spam contacts you accidentally added while signing up for a newsletter, old customers, and many other people you really don’t need to know about.

When this happens, you need to clean your address book if you want to stay organized and be able to easily navigate through your important contacts. Fortunately, Google makes it easy to do, so it shouldn’t take a lot of time and effort.

Can you delete all Google contacts at once?

Well yes and no. It depends on how many contacts you have and whether you are willing to go the extra mile to do this. Fortunately, the bulk delete option is available, but you can only select a maximum of 250 contacts. Although this should be sufficient for most, those who have been using Google Mail for a long time could have a lot more than this.

Still, there is a way to deal with this too, but before we get into that, let’s explain how to delete Google contacts using the built-in features.

Delete contacts directly from Google

This is the easiest way to delete multiple contacts at once. It’s very easy to do, and in just a couple of steps, you can have a much cleaner address book. This is what you have to do:

  1. Login to your Google account.
  2. Navigate to Contacts: in the upper right corner of the screen.
  3. Hover over the contact you want to delete until you see a check box.
  4. Click the check box and select all the contacts you want to delete. To delete them all, select Everything above the contact list.
  5. You will see a new banner appear at the top of the screen. On the right, you will see a three-dot menu. Click on it and select Delete.
  6. Confirm the removal by clicking Delete.

If you have 250 contacts or less, this is all you need to remove them all from your address book. However, if you have thousands of them, this could be a frustrating way to do it. If you have the time and energy to do so, you can delete multiple batches with this method. However, there is a faster solution.

Uso de Google Drive

This is a much more convenient solution, but it requires a bit of coding knowledge. If you’ve never encoded before, don’t worry, it’s so easy. These are the steps you need to follow:

  1. Log into your Google Drive.
  2. Create a new document and give it a name.
  3. Go to Tools, then select script editor.
  4. If there is any text in the box, paste the following code into it:
    function deleteContacts() { var myContactGroups = ContactsApp.getContactGroups(); for(var i = 0; i < myContactGroups.length; i++) { var myContacts = ContactsApp.getContactsByGroup(myContactGroups[i]); for(var j = 0; j < myContacts.length; j++) { ContactsApp.deleteContact(myContacts[j]); } } }
  5. From the menu at the top of the document, select Save money and hit To run, then deleteContacts. Google may ask for your permission to run the script. Allow me to delete all contacts.

Depending on the number of contacts you have, the process will take a different time to complete, but it shouldn’t take more than a couple of minutes. Once it’s completed, navigate to your address book to check if it was successful.

It goes without saying that once you do this, there is no going back. Your contacts will be permanently deleted and you won’t be able to restore them. That is why you should always search for important contacts before doing this.

On the other hand, if you delete contacts manually, you can easily restore them. This is what you have to do:

  1. Open Google Contacts and sign in.
  2. Navigate to the menu on the left side of the screen and click Trash.
  3. Hover over the contact you want to retrieve until you see a check box.
  4. Click the checkbox and select all the contacts you want to recover. To retrieve them all, select Everything above the contact list.
  5. Click Recover.

The last word

These are the two main options for deleting multiple Google contacts at once. The former is a bit easier and allows you to restore your contacts if you deleted them by mistake.

While the second option does not allow this, it is much more capable. With a little effort, you can empty your address book in no time. Which way to go will mainly depend on how many contacts you have, so choose the most suitable solution and give it a try.

Reference-www.jugomobile.com

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.