Wednesday, May 25

How to delete a contact in Viber

As soon as you install Viber on your mobile device, your contacts will be synced with the app. In case you want to delete existing contacts and conversations, you can do it in a few easy steps.

After reading this article, you will know how to delete contacts in Viber, as well as messages, group chats and complete chat histories. We will also answer some common questions related to managing your contacts on Viber.

How to remove a contact from Viber?

As one of the most popular and trusted online communication applications, Viber allows you to add new contacts, delete old ones, and edit contact information. Also, you can delete messages, even after they have been sent.

The contact deletion process on Viber is different for iPhone and Android users. We will show you how to do it on both devices.

How to delete a contact from Viber on your iPhone?

If you have an iPhone and you want to know how to delete a contact from Viber, follow these steps:

  1. Open Viber.
  2. Go to “Contacts” at the bottom of your screen.
  3. Find the person you want to remove from your contact list and tap their name.
  4. Tap the pencil icon in the upper right corner.
  5. Tap “Delete this contact.”
  6. Tap “Delete” again to confirm.

Note: It is important to know that once you delete a contact from Viber, it will also be permanently deleted from your device.

How to delete a contact from Viber on your Android?

To delete a contact from Viber on an Android device, follow these steps:

  1. Open Viber.
  2. Go to your contact list and find the contact you want to delete.
  3. Press on the contact until a pop-up menu appears.
  4. Find “Delete Contact” in the list of options.
  5. Confirm that you want to delete the contact forever.

Additional FAQs

How do I edit a contact in Viber?

You cannot change a user’s contact information within the app. You can only change your own contact information, as your contacts were imported from your phone’s contact list when you first installed the app.

To change the contact information of a specific user, you can do it on your phone, and it will be changed automatically in Viber as well.

If you want to edit your own contact name in Viber, you can do so by following the steps below:

1. Start Viber.

2. Touch the three horizontal lines in the lower right corner of your screen.

3. Go to the “Edit” option.

4. Touch “Edit Name”.

5. Write your new name in the box.

6. Touch “Save”.

Can Viber delete chat history?

Yes, you can clear all the history of a Viber chat by following these instructions:

1. Open Viber.

2. Touch the three horizontal lines in the lower right corner of your screen.

3. Go to “Settings”.

4. Navigate to “Calls and Messages”.

5. Find “Clear Message History” and tap it.

6. Touch “DELETE” to confirm.

How do I delete a contact profile?

A contact profile is deleted from your Viber the moment you delete the contact. From then on, you will not be able to see the contact information.

In case you want to re-add the contact in Viber, you will need to save their number on your phone first. The contact will automatically reappear in your contact list on Viber.

What happens when you delete a contact in Viber?

When you delete a contact on Viber, they are permanently removed from Viber as well as from your phone’s contact list. However, your conversation with that user will remain on the chat list unless you delete it yourself.

If you want to know how to delete conversations, you can find the instructions in one of the following sections.

Can I recover deleted messages from Viber?

In case you accidentally delete an entire message or conversation, or something happens to your mobile device, you have the option to recover deleted messages on Viber. The only prerequisite for recovering deleted messages is to backup your Viber account beforehand.

This includes installing a third-party application on your computer. You can use MobileTrans – WhatsApp Transfer. It is primarily designed for WhatsApp backups, but you can use it for Viber as well. Once you install the program on your computer, follow the steps below:

1. Connect your phone to your computer with a USB cable.

2. When the window opens, find Viber in the list of options.

3. Click “Backup” and wait until all messages are transferred.

When you want to recover deleted messages, do the following:

1. Connect your two devices with a USB cable.

2. Open the program.

3. Click on “Viber” in the sidebar.

4. Choose “Restore”.

5. Select the files you want to restore.

How do I permanently delete a contact?

By deleting a contact on Viber, you are also permanently deleting their phone number from your phone. You can find detailed instructions in the section above.

If you want to go one step further, you can also block a contact on Viber. This is how you do it:

1. Open Viber.

2. Open the chat with the person you want to block.

3. Touch your name at the top of the screen to access your contact information.

4. Scroll down until you see the option “Block contact”.

In case you want to block a contact that is not saved in your contact list, Viber will immediately give you the option to block it the moment you send him a message for the first time.

Once you block a contact, they will not be able to interact with you at all. However, if you uninstall Viber and then restore it later (or on another device), your block list will be reset, so be careful.

How do you delete a conversation on Viber?

The process of deleting conversations in Viber is done differently on iPhone and Android devices. We will show you how to do it in both.

If you have an iPhone and you want to delete a conversation on Viber, this is how to do it:

1. Launch the application.

2. Find the conversation you want to delete.

3. Swipe the chat to the left.

4. Choose the “Delete” option on the banner.

5. Confirm that you want to delete the chat.

If you want to do this on an Android device, follow these steps:

1. Open Viber.

2. Find the chat you want to delete.

3. Press and hold until a menu with options appears.

4. Choose “Delete”.

5. Touch “Yes” to confirm.

If I delete a contact on Viber, can they still see me?

If you delete a Viber user from your contact list, you will still be able to see them in your contact list. As long as someone has your number saved in their contact list, you will be visible to them. However, if you block them, they will not be able to view your profile or communicate with you at all.

If you delete or disable your account, your contacts may still be able to see you, but they won’t be able to message or call you. Also, your contact information will no longer be available.

How to add a contact number to Viber?

All your phone contacts that already use Viber will be synced the moment you install the app.

To add a contact to your Viber, follow these steps:

1. Open Viber.

2. Go to “Calls” at the bottom of the screen.

3. Navigate to the “Add Contact” icon in the upper left corner.

4. Enter the phone number of the contact.

5. Touch “Save”.

In case you want to add someone who does not have a Viber account, you can do so by following the steps below:

1. Open Viber and tap “Calls”.

2. Tap the “Add Contact” icon.

3. Enter your phone number and touch “Done.”

4. Enter your first and last name.

5. Choose “Save”.

6. Touch “Invite”.

Viber will immediately send an invitation to your contact via text message. The person you want to add will receive a link to install Viber on their phone.

Easily manage your contacts on Viber

Now you know how to delete contacts in Viber as well as complete messages, conversations and chat histories. You can also restore all those messages, manage your contact information, and block contacts on Viber. Once you have it all figured out, you can handle Viber like a pro.

Have you ever deleted a contact from Viber? Did you use any of the methods described in this article? Let us know in the comment section.

Reference-www.jugomobile.com

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.