Friday, May 27

Bingeing Guide to ‘The Boba Fett Book’: ‘Clone Wars’, ‘Mandalorian’ and More

Star Wars fans have been waiting The Boba Fett Book for a long time without even knowing it. Since he first appeared on the bridge of a Star Destroyer in the 1980s Star Wars: The Empire Strikes Back, Boba Fett has been a superstar in the Star Wars universe. Fett’s rise to pop culture ubiquity always seemed rather strange considering that his main claim to fame in the ’80s was firing his blaster multiple times before suffering one of the dumbest deaths in the entire trilogy. Whatever, his armor was instantly iconic and the character was just frio.

With The mandalorian And the benefit of a long running time for a TV series, Boba Fett finally got what he deserved for a long time: vindication and respect. In 2020, 40 years after the launch of Empire, Boba Fett managed to loosen up and show all his warrior skills. He was given motivation, a creed, a new look, a new partner, and a new artist at Temuera Morrison. For the first time, the guy in Boba Fett’s armor, the face under the helmet, and the voice we heard belonged to the same guy! And now, after seeing this new and improved Fett, stealing so many scenes from the protagonists of The mandalorian, he has a show of his own.

Released on December 29, The Boba Fett Book pick up where The mandalorian Season 2 ended. Fett and Fennec Shand (Ming-Na Wen) are on Tatooine and ready to fill the void left by the death of Jabba the Hutt at the hands of Leia Organa five years earlier. But Fett promises to be a new kind of underworld leader – that is, if all the other twisted criminals in the galaxy don’t kill him first.

Before experiencing Boba Fett’s first starring role in his first television series, you may want to brush up on his story. After all, for a man of mystery, we’ve seen him a lot in the last few decades. Here’s the chronological viewing order for Boba Fett.

The rise of Boba Fett

STAR WARS EPISODE II: ATTACK OF THE CLONES, Daniel Logan, Temuera Morrison, 2002, Copyright 2002 Luc
Photo: Everett Collection

Boba Fett’s debut in 2002 Attack of the clones Not only did it give the fan-favorite bounty hunter a definitive origin story, it also started a series of adventures for the young warrior-in-training. Following the murder of his father by Jedi Master Mace Windu, Boba Fett resurfaced in two installments of episodes of The Clone Wars where he sought revenge and began to make a name for himself.

  1. Star Wars: Attack of the Clones
  2. Star Wars, Clone Wars,“Death trap” (2 × 20)
  3. Star Wars, Clone Wars,“R2 Come Home” (2 × 21)
  4. Star Wars, Clone Wars,“Lethal Tracking” (2 × 22)
  5. Star Wars, Clone Wars,“Cheated” (4 × 15)
  6. Star Wars, Clone Wars,“Generosity” (4 × 20)

The reign and fall of Boba Fett

Star Wars Episode V: The Empire Strikes Back, Jeremy Bulloch, as Boba Fett, 1980
© Lucasfilm Ltd./courtesy Everett Collection

Boba Fett’s story, at least his story as described thus far, then flips forward 20 years, overlooking how he became the most notorious and feared bounty hunter in the galaxy. When we see him again in the special edition cut of A new hope, is on Tatooine backing Jabba the Hutt as the gangster intimidates Han Solo into paying his debts. Fett’s screen time in the original Star Wars The trilogy is minimal, but there’s no denying that his stoic presence adds tension to every scene he’s in … well, until his embarrassing disappearance in Return of the Jedi.

  1. Star Wars: A New Hope
  2. Star Wars: The Empire Strikes Back
  3. Star Wars: Return of the Jedi

The return of Boba Fett

Photo: Disney +

When Disney + announced that they were launching a Star Wars television series titled The Mandalorian, it was only a matter of time before the show dealt with the legacy of the most famous Mandalorian in the galaxy (or rather, the most famous person in the world). wear Mandalorian armor, that’s it). The show actually featured Boba Fett in the middle of season 1, though viewers didn’t realize it at the time. But after another tease of a Boba Fett / Din Djarin showdown in the season 2 premiere, the last three episodes of the season finally got Fett a lot of attention and finally, finally! – let the character be as badass on screen as he has been in our imaginations.

  1. The mandalorian, “The gunman” (1 × 5)
  2. The mandalorian, “The marshal” (2 × 1)
  3. The mandalorian, “The tragedy” (2 × 6)
  4. The mandalorian, “The believer” (2 × 7)
  5. The mandalorian, “The rescue” (2 × 8)

This is the perfect time to The Boba Fett Book drop, and perhaps the series will tie up some of the loose ends in the character’s backstory. What did he do between The Clone Wars Y A new hope? And how did it survive the well of Sarlacc? Those questions and more can be answered when The Boba Fett Book starts on December 29th.

The rest of Boba Fett

Photo: Lucasfilm

That’s not all of the Fett content available to stream on Disney +. In fact, the most important Boba Fett artifact has yet to appear in this broadcast guide: it is 1978’s “The Story of the Faithful Wookiee.” Issued as part of The Star Wars Christmas Special, this animated short marked Boba Fett’s debut appearance a year and a half before the release of The Empire Strikes Back On cinemas. And if you want to learn more about how that unfavorable debut came about, you can view Boba’s doc Under the helmet.

  1. The Star Wars Christmas Special, “The Story of the Faithful Wookiee”
  2. LEGO Star Wars: Droid Tales, “Gambito de Geonosis” (1 × 5)
  3. LEGO Star Wars: The Adventures of Freemaker, “Race on Tatooine” (1 × 7)
  4. Star Wars: Visiones, “Tatooine Rhapsody” (1 × 2)
  5. Under the Helmet: The Legacy of Boba Fett

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.