Wednesday, July 6

Max is worth a bang in Abu Dhabi

Once again Abu Dhabi will be the scene of the decision of the Formula 1 title as happened five years ago between Nico Rosberg, ultimately champion, and Lewis Hamilton, who lost it there as he lost in that last set in 2007 and 2010, while he won in 2008.

Figures similar to those of Fernando Alonso, who has been involved in four of them, the first victorious in 2006, a day in which Spain was paralyzed and the next three not: 2007 (gan Raikkonen), 2010 (Vettel did) and 2012 (again the German then in Red Bull) hovering for victory.

This time the best two arrive with the same points, heThey come clean smack and with mutual desire, although another blow, a mutual abandonment of both, would give the title to Max, who won 9 races by 8 English. That is why leader arrives, and it is a very important point to take into account given what has been seen.

The two arrive tied, something incredible but not unheard of. Only one of the 28 times did two applicants even reach points, Emerson Fittipaldi and Clay Regazzoni in 1974, both with 52 with Scheckter third with 49. A tragic date with the death of Helmuth Koinigg that he did not stop the race (today it will be unthinkable) and that he decided the crown in the American circuit of Watkins Glen (New York). Fittipaldi finished fourth with Regazzoni out of the points and Scheckter out of chance, as the Brazilian was crowned two-time champion and gave McLaren its first Drivers’ World Cup.

For Max Verstappen this will be the first title option, which is usually synonymous with defeat for the rookie, although 17 of the 28 times the one who arrived in the lead at the last appointment won. It will be the third time that the luxurious Yas Marina decides the champion, approaching the great stages that have witnessed the final drama, Brazil (4), Japan and the United States (5).

Some are so famous that they even made films of that career, clike the duel between Niki Lauda and James Hunt in 1976, immortalized in the film Rush, the one from 1984 that was decided by half a point between Niki himself and Alain Prost, the one from 1997 between Schumacher and Villeneuve in Jerez that cost the German to take away all the points and, perhaps the most famous and recent, the dramatic first Lewis Hamilton’s title in 2008, won in the last corner of the Brazilian Grand Prix against Felipe Massa.

THE 28 CHAMPIONS (in bold who was the leader)

1950 Nino Farina a Juan Manuel Fangio (Italy)

1951 Juan Manuel Fangio Alberto Ascari and Jos Froiln Gonzlez (Spain).

1956 Juan Manuel Fangio a Peter Collins, Stirling Moss y Jean Behra (Italia)

1958 Mike Hawthorn a Stirling Moss (Marruecos)

1959 Jack Brabham Tony Brooks (United States)

1964 John Surtees a Graham Hill y Jim Clark (Mxico)

1967 Denny Hulme a Jack Brabham (Mxico)

1968 Graham Hill a Jackie Stewart y Denny Hulme (Mxico)

1974 Emerson Fittipaldi to Clay Regazzoni – tied – and Jody Scheckter (United States)

1976 James Hunt a Niki Lauda (Japan)

1980 Alan Jones Nelson Piquet (United States)

1981 Nelson Piquet to Alan Jones, Jacques Laffite y Carlos Reutemann (USA)

1982 Keke Rosberga Didier Pironi and John Watson (United States)

1983 Nelson Piquet a Alain Prost (Sudfrica)

1984 Niki Lauda a Alain Prost (Portugal)

1986 Alain Prost a Nigel Mansell (Australia)

1994 Michael sSchumacher to Damon Hill (Adelaida)

1996 Damon Hill to Jacques Villeneuve (Japn)

1997 Jacques Villeneuve a Michael sSchumacher (Jerez)

1998 Mika Hakkinen a Michael Schumacher (Japn)

1999 Mika Hakkinen a Eddie Irvine (Japan)

2003 Michael sSchumacher a Kimi Raikkonen (Japan)

2006 Fernando Alonso a Michael Schumacher (Brasil)

2007 Kimi Raikkonen a Lewis Hamilton and Fernando Alonso (Brazil)

2008 Lewis Hamilton to Felipe Massa (Brazil)

2010 Sebastian Vettel a Fernando Alonso, Mark Webber y Lewis Hamilton (Abu Dhabi)

2012 Sebastian Vettel Fernando Alonso (Brazil)

2016 Nico Rosberg a Lewis Hamilton (Abu Dabi)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.