Monday, December 6

Posted by Dave Johnson on Oct 14, 2021 How to Delete a Facebook Group

Creating or joining a Facebook group has its benefits and simplifies interaction with like-minded people. However, you may find that there are groups that you no longer participate with, and that the accompanying notifications have become frustrating.

If you want to delete a Facebook group or two, read on. In this article, we will show you the quick and easy steps to follow to remove those unwanted Facebook groups from your feed.

How to delete a group on Facebook on a PC

How you delete a Facebook group depends on your role within the group. If you are the creator of the group, you must delete each participant before you can permanently delete the group. If you are a member of a group but did not create it, you have the option to leave the group and remove it from your profile (the group will remain for other active members).

Let’s see the steps to follow for these two methods when using a PC:

To delete a Facebook group that you created:

  1. If you haven’t done so already, log into your Facebook account.
  2. In your News Feed, select “Groups” from the menu on the left, scroll down and click on the one you want to remove.
  3. Select the “Members” tab located below the group name.
  4. Click on the three-dot icon next to each member’s name and select “Remove Member.”
  5. Click on “Confirm”.
  6. Once you have removed all members of the group, select the three-dot icon next to their name and choose “Leave Group”.
  7. Confirm by clicking “Delete group”.

Doing this removes the group permanently. Facebook doesn’t inform group participants when you delete a group. If you want to remove a group that you did not create from your feed, you will need to follow these steps:

  1. In your News Feed, look for the “Groups” option in the menu on the left side. Click on the group you want to leave.
  2. Click on the “Joined” button on the right under the group name.
  3. In the drop-down menu, choose “Leave Group”.

How to delete a group on Facebook on an iPad

Deleting a Facebook group on an iPad requires steps that differ slightly from those used on a PC. Here are the instructions:

  1. Launch your Facebook application.
  2. Find the icon with three stacked lines at the bottom right of the screen and tap on it.
  3. Select “Groups” and then “Your groups” and choose the group you want to delete.
  4. Tap the icon that looks like a shield with a star in the center and then select “Members.”
  5. Select each member’s name and then tap «Delete [Member’s Name] of the group “.
  6. Touch “Confirm”. Do this for each member.
  7. When your name is the last one left, tap the shield icon again and choose “Leave group”.

If you want to delete a group in which you are only a participant, you will need to:

  1. Navigate to the bottom right of the home screen and tap the icon with the three horizontal lines.
  2. Choose “Groups” and then “Your groups”. From here, select the group you want to delete.
  3. Once the group page opens, tap on the three-dot icon at the top right of the screen.
  4. Choose “Leave group”.

When you leave a group, the remaining members will not be notified. The group will remain, but you will no longer be part of it or receive notifications from that group.

How to delete a group on Facebook on an iPhone

Deleting a group on Facebook on an iPhone is similar to doing it on an iPad, as they both use the Facebook app. This is how you do it:

  1. Open the Facebook application.
  2. Tap the icon with the three stacked lines at the bottom right of the screen.
  3. Select “Groups” and then choose “Your groups”. Scroll to find the group you want to delete. Touch the group.
  4. On the group page, tap the icon with a shield and a white star in the center. From here choose “Members”.
  5. Delete each member by tapping their name and selecting «Delete [Member’s Name] From the group ”, and then clicking on“ Confirm ”.
  6. When your name is the only one left, tap the shield icon again and choose ‘Leave group’.

If you want to delete a group that you have not created using the Facebook app on your iPhone, this is what you should do:

  1. Launch the app.
  2. Touch the three stacked lines at the bottom right of the screen.
  3. Choose “Groups” and then select “Your groups”.
  4. Find the group you want to delete and tap on it.
  5. Tap the shield icon at the top right of the screen.
  6. Select “Leave group”.

How to delete a group on Facebook on an Android phone

The Facebook app interface differs slightly on an Android device, so the instructions for deleting a group on an Android phone will have unique steps. Here’s how to delete groups on Android:

  1. Launch your Facebook application.
  2. Touch the icon with the three horizontal lines at the top right of the screen.
  3. Touch “Groups” and then “Your groups” to see the list of groups you participate in.
  4. Touch the group to delete.
  5. Choose “Members” by tapping the series of member profile images that appear below the group name.
  6. Delete each member by pressing the three dot icon next to each member’s name. Choose ‘Remove Member’ followed by ‘Confirm’.
  7. Once you’ve done this for all members and their name is the only one left, tap on the shield icon and the white star.
  8. Select “Leave group” and then confirm by tapping “Leave group”.

If you want to delete a group that you didn’t create, here’s what to do:

  1. Facebook open.
  2. Touch the icon with the three lines at the top right of the screen.
  3. Choose “Groups” and then “Your groups” and scroll through the options. Once you’ve located the group, tap on it.
  4. Touch the ellipse dots at the top right of the screen and choose “Exit group”.

If you are a group admin and deleting your group is too drastic, you can always pause the group. This stops any activity in the group until you resume it. This can give you time to catch up with posts or the group admin. A banner will be posted at the top of the group page, informing members that the group is temporarily paused. Pausing a group is simple and you can find the steps you need to take at Facebook Help Center.

Groups eliminated!

Deleting a Facebook group you’ve created or leaving one you participate in is relatively simple once you know what steps to take. While removing members from your groups can be tedious, the rest of the process is quick and easy. By following the steps outlined here, you will soon remove groups that no longer serve you in a matter of minutes.

Have you deleted a Facebook group on an iOS or Android device or PC? Did you use a set of steps similar to the ones shown in this article? Let us know by commenting below.

Reference-www.jugomobile.com

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *